Life in mono

stock-footage-one-white-dice-in-super-slow-motion-rebonding-on-the-grey-floor-against-a-grey-backgroundWhat is it that makes everything come in pairs ? You have to buy at least two cups, at least a pair of cutlery, six pairs of plates…Again your phone is full with all these promos for two: win a trip in Milan for two, dinner for two, theater tickets for two…even condoms come in pairs (well that’s good sorry).

You go to the Super market and the loyalty card is in doubles-in case you want to share your points with someone else in the house. I am sorry to disappoint you, but my dog is too busy sleeping on every corner of the house, let alone go out for shopping…You are off on holidays and even that crappy bed and breakfast gives you a second key for your room. He saw you traveling alone, but still hopes you can find someone to use it. Well I have a tendency losing stuff so I would need a second one for sure! Handy.Thank you.

You go out for dinner. The lady greets you, you ask a table for dinner. As if she doesn’t understand she goes,” is it only yourself tonight miss?” . Wtf YES! And then, you get this look of “I am sorry for you”. You sit at the table (for two) and the waiter ensures once more if someone else is joining. As if after a couple of steps from the entrance I would also feel sorry for myself and call for someone to join! You confirm you are eating alone and when it comes to order you get food for two…and you completely mix them up! haha! Well, what can I say, I am a food lover indeed.  

So I ask myself, who said to all these people that you should come in couples? Why should there always be someone using this second key, glass, plate, ticket? And why this world only accepts couples and not singles?

Because in a civilized world, single life should not be matched to life in mono, don’t you think? Do you need someone else using that second bonus card to get a bonus in life? Not really.

2 thoughts on “Life in mono

  1. True, but I when I read it suddenly, for some reason, I thought of that old song lyric, “One is the loneliest number that you’ll ever do”. Hey, thanks for following my blog. I am humbled and delighted.

    Like

    • jl says:

      ..nice song! But you know “one” is not always that lonely! I try to see the funny side of it! :)..Thank you for the comment!Glad you are following as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

